Skip to main content


North Dakota Nonprofit Leaders Recognized

NDANO presented its 2011 Innovation Award and Walt Odegaard Leadership Award during the Annual Nonprofit Leadership Conference June 2 in Fargo.

The Innovation Award is given to a nonprofit organization that has taken initiative to demonstrate community leadership and build partnerships. The 2011 Innovation Award winner was Beyond Shelter Inc. of Fargo.

The Walt Odegaard Leadership Award is given to an individual who has made a difference by strengthening the nonprofit sector through leadership, volunteerism and/or philanthropy. The 2011 recipient was Sandra Leyland, executive director of Fraser Ltd. in Fargo.

“It is an honor to present these awards to such deserving recipients,” says NDANO President Gayla Sherman. “Their initiative and continued commitment to enhance quality of life in their communities through their work in the state nonprofit sector is appreciated.”