Skip to main content


North Dakota Nonprofit Leaders Recognized

The North Dakota Association of Nonprofit Organizations (NDANO) presented its 2013 Walt Odegaard Leadership, Partnership Building Award and Emerging Leader Award on June 5 during the Nonprofit Leadership Conference in Fargo.

The Walt Odegaard Leadership Award is given to an individual who has made a difference by strengthening North Dakota and its nonprofit sector through his or her long-term commitment to leadership, volunteerism and philanthropy. Individuals with more than 15 years of leadership experience are eligible for this award. The 2013 recipient is William Pearce, attorney at Fredrikson & Byron PA Law Firm in Bismarck.

The Partnership Building Award is presented to an organization that has demonstrated community leadership and built partnerships within the North Dakota nonprofit sector. Nonprofits, for-profit businesses, government agencies and educational institutions are eligible for this award. The 2013 Partnership Building Award winner is Marathon Oil.

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant impact in strengthening the North Dakota nonprofit sector in a short amount of time through his or her commitment to leadership, volunteerism and/or philanthropy. Individuals with 15 years or less of leadership experience are eligible for this award. The 2013 Emerging Leader Award winner is Luke Klefstad, regional director at The Village Family Service Center in Grand Forks.

“NDANO is pleased to recognize excellence in the nonprofit sector through its annual awards,” says NDANO Executive Director Dana Schaar. “This year’s award recipients are to be commended for their commitment to enhance quality of life throughout North Dakota.”