Skip to main content


2014 Nonprofit Awards

The North Dakota Association of Nonprofit Organizations (NDANO) presented its 2014 Walt Odegaard Leadership, Partnership Building Award and Emerging Leader Award on May 28 during the Nonprofit Leadership Conference in Bismarck.

The Walt Odegaard Leadership Award is given to an individual who has made a difference by strengthening North Dakota and its nonprofit sector through his or her long-term commitment to leadership, volunteerism and philanthropy. Individuals with more than 15 years of leadership experience are eligible for this award. The 2014 recipient is Diane Zainhofsky, executive director at the Abused Adult Resource Center in Bismarck.

The Partnership Building Award is presented to an organization that has demonstrated community leadership and built partnerships within the North Dakota nonprofit sector. Nonprofits, for-profit businesses, government agencies and educational institutions are eligible for this award. The 2014 Partnership Building Award winner is Lutheran Social Services of North Dakota.

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant impact in strengthening the North Dakota nonprofit sector in a short amount of time through his or her commitment to leadership, volunteerism and/or philanthropy. Individuals with 15 years or less of leadership experience are eligible for this award. The 2014 Emerging Leader Award winner is Ty Hegland, executive director at Healthcare Equipment Recycling Organization (HERO) in Fargo.

“NDANO is pleased to recognize excellence in the nonprofit sector through its annual awards,” says NDANO Executive Director Jessica Gilbertson. “This year’s award recipients are to be commended for their commitment to enhance quality of life throughout North Dakota.”