Skip to main content

ND Nonprofit Awards

ND Nonprofit Awards Logo

The purpose of the NDANO Awards Program is to recognize the efforts of individuals and organizations working to advance the North Dakota nonprofit sector, strengthen communities and enhance quality of life in the state.

Nominations are now closed for the 2024 NDANO Awards. 


Here are the 2024 Award Recipients:

Nonprofit Legislative Champions

The Legislative Champion award, established in 2021, recognizes legislators whose advocacy within the state legislature has made a lasting impact for North Dakota nonprofits and strengthened the state nonprofit sector.

Walt Odegaard Leadership Award

The Leadership Award is given to an individual who has made a difference by strengthening North Dakota and its nonprofit sector through his/her long-term commitment to leadership, volunteerism, and/or philanthropy. This award recognizes an individual’s dedication and achievements throughout his/her lifetime. In 2007, it was renamed the Walt Odegaard Leadership Award in honor of one of NDANO’s founders.

Partnership Building Award

The Partnership Building Award (formally Innovation Award) is given to an organization that has demonstrated community leadership and built partnerships within the North Dakota nonprofit sector. Nonprofits, for-profit businesses, government agencies, and educational institutions are eligible for this award.

Emerging Leader Award

The Emerging Leader Award is given to a nonprofit professional who has made a significant impact in strengthening the North Dakota nonprofit sector in a short amount of time within the field through his/her commitment to leadership, volunteerism, and/or philanthropy.  This award is presented to early to mid career leaders, generally those with less than 10 years of experience in the nonprofit sector.